Humanities and Social Sciences (HSS)

Provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the U.S. and elsewhere, with abstracting and indexing of over 625 periodicals as far back as 1983, nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed. Social Sciences Abstracts™ covers the latest concepts, trends, opinions, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.

Provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. With more more than 300 full text journals, the Religion & Philosophy Collection is an essential tool for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies.

Contains scholarly journals and magazines that can be used by novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. A balanced coverage of events in U.S. history and scholarly work being established in the field. Access to this database is provided by the State Library of Oregon via an IMLS LSTA grant.

One of the most comprehensive literary databases, it includes full text biographical, bibliographical, and critical analysis of more than 10,000 authors from every time period and genre; works overviews and plot lines; useful websites; and a literary-historical timeline. It allows searching by author, title, keyword, and authors by type (literary movement, genre, gender or ethnicity). Access to this database is provided by the State Library of Oregon via an IMLS LSTA grant.

Credo Reference is a giant online reference library that provides you with access to a selection of reference books. Credo Reference includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations, not to mention a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law.

This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study. It provides full text for more than 4,650 journals, including full text for more than 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

This collection of over 66,000 video titles spans a wide range of subject areas such as: business, counseling, health, engineering, or psychology. You will find videos of lectures, of trainings, of demonstrations, from documentaries, and from TV. Most films include limited public performance rights.

ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC provides full text of more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals. Covers 1910 - present.

The American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. The largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from periodicals in dozens of languages.

Ebook Central offers students, researchers, and faculty both breadth and depth of scholarly e-books in many subject areas from physical sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.

Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for academic research including journal articles, books, technical reports, conference proceedings, and other scholarly material. Make sure you visit Settings and set Oregon Tech as your library so you have easier access to articles for free.

Covers topics on emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.

Provides statistical data on industry, technology, consumers, society, education and more. Covers national and international data from over 22,500 sources. Can be downloaded in PowerPoint, Excel, PNG, or PDF formats for use in papers or presentations.