LibGuides: .Polysomnography: Start Here

How to Use this Subject Guide

Welcome! Iris Godwin, the subject librarian for polysomnography, is on temporary leave. Please contact Kristin Whitman, kristin.whitman@oit.edu, for assistance with any questions!

This guide points you toward the best starting points for doing research in this subject area.

Use the tabs on the left to explore different sections of this guide.

If you have questions or need help with research, visit the Get Help section and/or contact the librarian on this guide.

Best Databases to Try

CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Focuses on patient care, so use when you need to find information on how people and medicine interact. For example, management of patients, assessments, or clinical practices. It provides full text for 790 nursing and allied health journals and many date back to 1982. Also includes Open Access (OA) journals.

PubMed (with OHSU full text access)
PubMed is a free database which contains more than 33 million citations for biomedical literature, life science journals. Because it is free and contains so much valuable medical evidence, you will likely use PubMed throughout your medical career. OHSU has a larger collection of full text electronic medical journals than OIT, so this PubMed link is configured to show "Find it at OHSU" buttons on search results to help you get the full text.

PubMed Search Help

If a simple search in PubMed does not retrieve the articles for which you are searching, try PubMed Advanced Search Builder (tutorial video above).
To search by subject in the Libraries Catalog or PubMed, MeSH terms should be used for best results. See the About MeSH Headings tab of this box for more information.
Do you need a more in-depth PubMed tutorial? Please contact your librarian (see the profile boxes on this guide), try the tutorials on the NIH website (under Quick Tours), or you can use this PubMed Playlist by medical librarian Carrie Price to get quick tutorials.

MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine® (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains information needed by nurses, health professionals and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development. Note that MEDLINE is also searched by default in PubMed, so you don't need to search MEDLINE separately if you're using PubMed unless you're doing a systematic search project.

MESH headings are used in a number of databases to provide more precise results. The video below explains what they are and how to use them.

To search by subject in the Libraries Catalog or PubMed, MeSH terms should be used for best results. The following list represents a sample of available headings; to obtain a complete list of relevant subject terms, please use the MeSH database in PubMed, the NIH MeSH Browser or consult with a librarian.

Aortic diseases
Coronary disease
Echocardiography
Echocardiography, Doppler
Echocardiography, Doppler, color
Echocardiography, three dimensional
Echocardiography, transesophageal
Heart defects, congenital
Heart Diseases

Need images? This database can help you with that.

SMART imagebase This link opens in a new window
SMART Imagebase contains a growing collection of high-quality illustrations and animations depicting anatomy, physiology, surgery, pathology, diseases, conditions, trauma, embryology, histology and other medical topics. It also includes 100 anatomy coloring book pages. Content is peer-reviewed by graduate-level medical illustrators and expert reviewed by physicians.

Other Resources

Sleep Journal
Joint publication of the Sleep Research Society and the American Academy of Sleep Medicine.

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence for inform healthcare decision-making. Cochrane Library is primarily used for its database of systematic reviews. Use this when looking for evidence-based information. It also has many clinical trial articles, technology assessments, and economic evaluations. The Cochrane Library consists of: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Cochrane Reviews); Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (Other Reviews); Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (Clinical Trials); Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews (Methods Reviews); The Cochrane Methodology Register (Methods Studies); Health Technology Assessment Database (Technology Assessments); NHS Economic Evaluation Database (Economic Evaluations).
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Explore this database of encyclopedias and reference sources within the Gale eBooks platform. For multidisciplinary research.
CREDO Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is a giant online reference library that provides you with access to a selection of reference books. Credo Reference includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations, not to mention a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study. It provides full text for more than 4,650 journals, including full text for more than 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.