LibGuides: ECHO 334: Echocardiography IV: Start Here

How to Use this Course Guide

Hello,

This guide is to help you perform subject searches for your ECHO 334 assignments. Searching is not performed the same way in all 12 resources. I've given you a couple of examples of how to search. During your advancement in the program, there is more information provided for you in the Echocardiography Research Guide. If you have questions, please contact me at cate.guenther@oit.edu.

Use the tabs on the left to explore different sections of this guide.

If you have questions or need help with research, visit the Get Help section and/or contact the librarian on this guide.

Assignment: Find medical databases available at OT

To search these collections of journal publications, click on each one.

AltHealth Watch This alternative health database provides full text for more than 140 publications, including many peer-reviewed journals. Provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine dating back to 1990.
CINAHL with Full Text Focuses on patient care, so use when you need to find information on how people and medicine interact. For example, management of patients, assessments, or clinical practices. It provides full text for 790 nursing and allied health journals and many date back to 1982. Also includes Open Access (OA) journals.
Cochrane Library The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence for inform healthcare decision-making. Cochrane Library is primarily used for its database of systematic reviews. Use this when looking for evidence-based information. It also has many clinical trial articles, technology assessments, and economic evaluations. The Cochrane Library consists of: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Cochrane Reviews); Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (Other Reviews); Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (Clinical Trials); Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews (Methods Reviews); The Cochrane Methodology Register (Methods Studies); Health Technology Assessment Database (Technology Assessments); NHS Economic Evaluation Database (Economic Evaluations).
Gale Health and Wellness Electronic reference books and journal articles on consumer and alternative health issues. Access to this database is provided by the State Library of Oregon via an IMLS LSTA grant.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine Find up-to-date information on a range of health care topics. Best for students, researchers, and health care professionals. Access to this database is provided by the State Library of Oregon via an IMLS LSTA grant.
Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health Includes full-text titles cited in CINAHL to support specialized care, treatment, and patient management. Access to this database is provided by the State Library of Oregon via an IMLS LSTA grant.
Health Source: Consumer Edition Provides information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
MEDLINE MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine® (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains information needed by nurses, health professionals and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development.
PsycINFO The American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. The largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from periodicals in dozens of languages.
PubMed PubMed contains more than 33 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites. Links are provided to Oregon Tech journal subscriptions when available.

If you are not sure what a peer reviewed or scholarly article is, watch the video, "Peer Review in 3 Minutes".
Watch the videos, "Using CINAHL/MESH Headings" and "Using Medline" to learn how to search for articles.
If you have any questions, please contact me.

ECHO 334: Echocardiography IV

University Librarian

How to Use this Course Guide

Assignment: Find medical databases available at OT

Peer Review in 3 Minutes

Using Medline

Using the CINAHL/MeSH Headings Feature in EBSCOhost