LibGuides: .Applied Psychology: Start Here

How to Use this Subject Guide

This guide points you toward the best starting points for doing research in this subject area.

Use the tabs on the left to explore different sections of this guide.

If you have questions or need help with research, visit the Get Help section and/or contact the librarian on this guide.

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. The largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from periodicals in dozens of languages.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers topics on emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study. It provides full text for more than 4,650 journals, including full text for more than 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of online resources covering life, health, and physical sciences as well as social science and the humanities. Provides access to over 4 million articles from 1,600 journals, more than 22,000 books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols, and databases.

PsycINFO Playlists
Teaches how to use tools from the American Psychological Association's Publishing Office. Find training resources about the APA Databases - PsycINFO, PsycARTICLES, PsycTESTS, PsycBOOKS, PsycEXTRA, and PsycTHERAPY - on APA PsycNET, EBSCOhost, ProQuest, and Ovid. You'll also find videos about Academic Writer, a complete environment for teaching, learning & writing professionally in APA Style.

Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
This collection of over 66,000 video titles spans a wide range of subject areas such as: business, counseling, health, engineering, or psychology. You will find videos of lectures, of trainings, of demonstrations, from documentaries, and from TV. Most films include limited public performance rights.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for academic research including journal articles, books, technical reports, conference proceedings, and other scholarly material. Make sure you visit Settings and set Oregon Tech as your library so you have easier access to articles for free.