LibGuides: .Applied Behavior Analysis: Start Here

How to Use this Subject Guide

This guide points you toward the best starting points for doing research in this subject area.

Use the tabs on the left to explore different sections of this guide.

If you have questions or need help with research, visit the Get Help section and/or contact the librarian on this guide.

Best Databases to Try

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. The largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from periodicals in dozens of languages.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers topics on emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.

Other Resources

MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine® (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains information needed by nurses, health professionals and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development.
CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Focuses on patient care, so use when you need to find information on how people and medicine interact. For example, management of patients, assessments, or clinical practices. It provides full text for 790 nursing and allied health journals and many date back to 1982. Also includes Open Access (OA) journals.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Find up-to-date information on a range of health care topics. Best for students, researchers, and health care professionals.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence for inform healthcare decision-making. Cochrane Library is primarily used for its database of systematic reviews. Use this when looking for evidence-based information. It also has many clinical trial articles, technology assessments, and economic evaluations. The Cochrane Library consists of: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Cochrane Reviews); Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (Other Reviews); Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (Clinical Trials); Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews (Methods Reviews); The Cochrane Methodology Register (Methods Studies); Health Technology Assessment Database (Technology Assessments); NHS Economic Evaluation Database (Economic Evaluations).
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed contains more than 33 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites. Links are provided to Oregon Tech journal subscriptions when available.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study. It provides full text for more than 4,650 journals, including full text for more than 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for academic research including journal articles, books, technical reports, conference proceedings, and other scholarly material. Make sure you visit Settings and set Oregon Tech as your library so you have easier access to articles for free.
Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
This collection of over 66,000 video titles spans a wide range of subject areas such as: business, counseling, health, engineering, or psychology. You will find videos of lectures, of trainings, of demonstrations, from documentaries, and from TV. Most films include limited public performance rights.

How Research Works?

A quick overview of how scientific knowledge is accumulated and advanced over time to help us better understand the world around us.

How Research Works: Understanding the Process of Science

Let Google Scholar Search for Library Items

This video (1 min.) shows you how to set up Google Scholar so you can get articles for free through the Oregon Tech Library.

Note: If you find an article in Google Scholar and it doesn't link you back to the OT Library, you can submit a request to get the article from another library for free.