Oregon Tech University Archives strives to make its holdings easily accessible to interested users. To that end, we have been digitizing physical materials in our collections.
Geo-Heat Collection - Oregon Tech's history is closely related to geothermal energy. The Geo-Heat Center, once located on campus, along with the many geothermal features of Klamath Falls, is one of the reasons why the University Archives deems its Geo-Heat collections to be some of its most important. The Geo-Heat digital collection contains digitized Quarterly Bulletins published by the staff of the Geo-Heat Center. Viewable online as PDFs, the Bulletins discuss a variety of issues related to geothermal energy at home and abroad.
Campus History Digital Collection - The digitizing of archival materials located in the University Archives began with the photographs. Many of them show early campus activities and facilities on the Old Campus, located on the Old Fort Road in the former Marine Recuperation Barracks. This digital collection depicts campus buildings views inside and out, and the numerous activities of the students and faculty.
Yearbooks - The Oregon Tech Archives is home to several publications by students and for students. One of the most prominent is the student yearbook, The Owler, which ran from 1951 to 1983 and contains stories and photographs of Oregon Tech students, faculty and the campus events.
Student Newspapers - work in progress. The student newspaper has undergone various name changes since 1947. The Oregon Vocational School (OVS) started the first (newsletter or newspaper) in 1947 titled The Owl. In 1948, when OVS became Oregon Technical Institute (OTI), the title of the paper changed to The Miler, which ran until 1982. Titles proceeded to change: Newspaper (1984), TechTalk (1984 -1988) and then The Edge (1988 to current) -- with intermittent issues starting September 30, 1988, named The Ledge, known as the "Joke Issue". The digital version of all these student newspapers is being added to the Oregon Tech Libraries Digital Collections.