Alfred Douglas “Cap” Collier was a noted twentieth century lumberman and philanthropist in Klamath County, Oregon. Shaw Library holds Collier's extensive logging photograph collection.
Collection consists of research material on Oregon, northern California, and northwestern Nevada logging and freight railroads, logging companies and mills in the area, correspondence, images, DVDs and maps. Jack Bowden (John Curtis Bowden) translated a life-long love of railroads into a career with the Southern Pacific Railroad, two books and a research collection created over 60 years.
Collection includes research materials gathered by Devere and Helen Helfrich as editors of the Klamath Echoes, photographs used in that publication, part of the Helfriches personal photography collection and annotated maps they used to trace emigrant trails in the western United States.
Janis Kafton was a Klamath County educator and amateur historian. The Janis Kafton Collection on Klamath County, Oregon: Local History is organized by family, location, business, and organization. This series is made up of documents, photocopies, newspaper clippings, hand written notes, audio cassette tapes, card files, sketches, maps, and photographs covering the period 1905-2000.
Shaw Library holds several tapes with recorded interviews with local lumbermen, such as Merle S. West and Kenneth A. Burkholder.
Contains photographs of lumber mills and logging camps.
Collection was donated by the owners of the Modoc Lumber Co., the Shaw Family. Laurence Shaw is remembered as the founder of the Shaw Historical Library in 1983 at the Oregon Institute of Technology. Collection contains multiple maps, atlases, detailed data on National Forest Timber estimates, maps of the Klamath Indian Reservation, and other materials.