LibGuides: .Biology: Start Here

How to Use this Subject Guide

This guide points you toward the best starting points for doing research in this subject area.

Use the tabs on the left to explore different sections of this guide.

If you have questions or need help with research, visit the Get Help section and/or contact the librarian on this guide.

Best Databases to Try

Agricola This link opens in a new window
Indexes more than 5,000 professional and technical publications including books, serials, audiovisual, and other materials. Covers all aspects of agriculture from 1970 - present.
Biological and Agricultural Index Plus This link opens in a new window
Indexes core literature of biology and agriculture, much of it from peer-reviewed journals. Subjects covered include botany, environmental sciences, health, life sciences, medicine, and zoology. Covers 1983 - present.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of online resources covering life, health, and physical sciences as well as social science and the humanities. Provides access to over 4 million articles from 1,600 journals, more than 22,000 books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols, and databases.

Other Resources

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study. It provides full text for more than 4,650 journals, including full text for more than 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for academic research including journal articles, books, technical reports, conference proceedings, and other scholarly material. Make sure you visit Settings and set Oregon Tech as your library so you have easier access to articles for free.
Applied Science & Technology Full Text This link opens in a new window
Some full-text. Indexes international and English-language periodicals, covering chemistry, engineering, mathematics, physics, computer technology, and energy-related disciplines. Includes articles, interviews, meetings, conferences, exhibitions, new product reviews/announcements, and more. Covers 1983 - present.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central offers students, researchers, and faculty both breadth and depth of scholarly e-books in many subject areas from physical sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed contains more than 33 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites. Links are provided to Oregon Tech journal subscriptions when available.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
The U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature. All the articles in PMC are free (sometimes on a delayed basis). Some journals go beyond free, to Open Access. Also has the author manuscripts of articles published by NIH-funded researchers in various non-PMC journals. Similar manuscripts from researchers funded by the Wellcome Trust are available as well.

How Research Works

A quick overview of how scientific knowledge is accumulated and advanced over time to help us better understand the world around us.

How Research Works: Understanding the Process of Science

Peer Review in 3 Minutes

Google Scholar Set Up

This video (1 min.) shows you how to set up Google Scholar so you can get articles for free through the Oregon Tech Library.

Note: If you find an article in Google Scholar and it doesn't link you back to the OT Library, you can submit a request to get the article from another library for free.