LibGuides: .Health Informatics: Start Here

How to Use This Subject Guide

This guide points you toward the best starting points for doing research in this subject area.

Use the menu tabs to explore different sections of this guide.

If you have questions or need help with research, visit the Get Help section and/or contact the librarian on this guide.

Best Databases to Try

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for more than 1,100 journals covering business, management, economics, finance, banking, accounting, and much more. Also try the Business Searching Interface that has been specifically designed to enable Business Source Complete users to take advantage of its diverse database content.

CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Focuses on patient care, so use when you need to find information on how people and medicine interact. For example, management of patients, assessments, or clinical practices. It provides full text for 790 nursing and allied health journals and many date back to 1982. Also includes Open Access (OA) journals.

MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine® (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains information needed by nurses, health professionals and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development.

Additional Resources

By nature Health Informatics is multidisciplinary. To get information on all aspects of a topic you may have to search in more than one subject specific resource. The resources here are divided by medical resources and IT resources to help you find information on all aspects of your topic.

Medical Resources

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence for inform healthcare decision-making. Cochrane Library is primarily used for its database of systematic reviews. Use this when looking for evidence-based information. It also has many clinical trial articles, technology assessments, and economic evaluations. The Cochrane Library consists of: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Cochrane Reviews); Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (Other Reviews); Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (Clinical Trials); Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews (Methods Reviews); The Cochrane Methodology Register (Methods Studies); Health Technology Assessment Database (Technology Assessments); NHS Economic Evaluation Database (Economic Evaluations).
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window The American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. The largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from periodicals in dozens of languages.

IT Resources

Applied Science & Technology Full Text This link opens in a new window Some full-text. Indexes international and English-language periodicals, covering chemistry, engineering, mathematics, physics, computer technology, and energy-related disciplines. Includes articles, interviews, meetings, conferences, exhibitions, new product reviews/announcements, and more. Covers 1983 - present.
Faulkner's Advisory for IT studies This link opens in a new window Contains a virtual library of clearly-written reports covering such key technology areas as IT infrastructure, telecom, data networking, wireless communications, security, enterprise systems, the Internet and World Wide Web, as well as technology vendors. In addition, FAITS has convenient links to major online technology and business news resources such as NewsFactor, TechWeb, CBS MarketWatch,TechNewsWorld, CNN Asia, BBC, and Yahoo!. The service also provides direct links to a wealth of online bibliographic resources for topics in business, computer science, education, health sciences, humanities, math and science, and the social sciences.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study. It provides full text for more than 4,650 journals, including full text for more than 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Computer Source This link opens in a new window Provides researchers with the latest information and current trends in high technology. This database offers full text for nearly 300 publications and indexing and abstracts for nearly 450 publications.