LibGuides: .Medical Imaging Technology: Start Here

How to Use this Subject Guide

***NOTE: Iris Godwin is on temporary leave through March 11th, 2004. Please contact librarian Kristin Whitman, kristin.whitman@oit.edu, with any questions and she will be happy to help!***

Hello,

I am Iris Godwin, the librarian for the Oregon Tech Medical Imaging Technology Program. This guide points you toward the best starting points for doing research in this subject area. If you have questions, please let me know at iris.godwin@oit.edu. Suggestions for this guide are appreciated.

Use the tabs on the left to explore different sections of this guide.

If you have questions or need help with research, visit the Get Help section and/or contact the librarian on this guide.

Best Databases to Try

CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Focuses on patient care, so use when you need to find information on how people and medicine interact. For example, management of patients, assessments, or clinical practices. It provides full text for 790 nursing and allied health journals and many date back to 1982. Also includes Open Access (OA) journals.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed contains more than 33 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites. Links are provided to Oregon Tech journal subscriptions when available.

If a simple search does not retrieve the articles for which you are searching, try PubMed Advanced Search Builder (tutorial video below).

To search by subject in the Libraries Catalog or PubMed, MeSH terms should be used for best results. The following list represents a sample of available headings; to obtain a complete list of relevant subject terms, please use the MeSH database in PubMed, the NIH MeSH Browser or consult with a librarian.

Aortic diseases
Coronary disease
Echocardiography
Echocardiography, Doppler
Echocardiography, Doppler, color
Echocardiography, three dimensional
Echocardiography, transesophageal
Heart defects, congenital
Heart Diseases

MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine® (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains information needed by nurses, health professionals and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development.

MESH headings are used in a number of databases to provide more precise results. The video below explains what they are and how to use them.

Need images? This database can help you with that.

SMART imagebase This link opens in a new window
SMART Imagebase contains a growing collection of high-quality illustrations and animations depicting anatomy, physiology, surgery, pathology, diseases, conditions, trauma, embryology, histology and other medical topics. It also includes 100 anatomy coloring book pages. Content is peer-reviewed by graduate-level medical illustrators and expert reviewed by physicians.

Other resources

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence for inform healthcare decision-making. Cochrane Library is primarily used for its database of systematic reviews. Use this when looking for evidence-based information. It also has many clinical trial articles, technology assessments, and economic evaluations. The Cochrane Library consists of: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Cochrane Reviews); Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (Other Reviews); Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (Clinical Trials); Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews (Methods Reviews); The Cochrane Methodology Register (Methods Studies); Health Technology Assessment Database (Technology Assessments); NHS Economic Evaluation Database (Economic Evaluations).