LibGuides: .Medical Sociology: Start Here

How to Use this Subject Guide

This guide points you toward the best starting points for doing research in this subject area.

Use the tabs on the left to explore different sections of this guide.

If you have questions or need help with research, visit the Get Help section and/or contact the librarian on this guide.

MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine® (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains information needed by nurses, health professionals and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development.
Social Sciences Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the U.S. and elsewhere, with abstracting and indexing of over 625 periodicals as far back as 1983, nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed. Social Sciences Abstracts™ covers the latest concepts, trends, opinions, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. The largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from periodicals in dozens of languages.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study. It provides full text for more than 4,650 journals, including full text for more than 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of online resources covering life, health, and physical sciences as well as social science and the humanities. Provides access to over 4 million articles from 1,600 journals, more than 22,000 books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols, and databases.
CREDO Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is a giant online reference library that provides you with access to a selection of reference books. Credo Reference includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations, not to mention a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law.

Medical Sociology Study Group
The BSA Medical Sociology Group exists to promote scholarship and communication in the field of the sociology of health and illness in the United Kingdom. The group is one of the largest and most active study groups of the British Sociological Association.
Program Evaluation and Social Research Methods
Lists free resources for Program Evaluation and Social Research Methods. The focus is on "how-to" do program evaluation and social research: surveys, focus groups, sampling, interviews, and other methods. Most of these links are to resources that can be read over the web.
Global Health Observatory Data Repository
WHO's gateway to health-related statistics for more than 1000 indicators for its 194 Member States. Data are organized to monitor progress towards the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), including health status indicators to monitor progress towards for the overall health goal, indicators to track equity in health indicators, and the indicators for the specific health and health-related targets of the SDGs.