LibGuides: .Dental Hygiene: Start Here

Start here! Top Resources

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed contains more than 33 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites. Links are provided to Oregon Tech journal subscriptions when available.
CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Focuses on patient care, so use when you need to find information on how people and medicine interact. For example, management of patients, assessments, or clinical practices. It provides full text for 790 nursing and allied health journals and many date back to 1982. Also includes Open Access (OA) journals.

Best Databases to Try

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed contains more than 33 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites. Links are provided to Oregon Tech journal subscriptions when available.

PubMed Search Help

If a simple search in PubMed does not retrieve the articles for which you are searching, try PubMed Advanced Search Builder (tutorial video above).
To search by subject in PubMed, MeSH terms should be used for best results. See the About MeSH Headings tab of this box for more information.
Do you need a more in-depth PubMed tutorial? Please contact your librarian (see the profile boxes on this guide), try the tutorials on the NIH website (under Quick Tours), or you can use this PubMed Playlist by medical librarian Carrie Price to get quick tutorials.

CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Focuses on patient care, so use when you need to find information on how people and medicine interact. For example, management of patients, assessments, or clinical practices. It provides full text for 790 nursing and allied health journals and many date back to 1982. Also includes Open Access (OA) journals.

MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine® (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains information needed by nurses, health professionals and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development. Note that MEDLINE is also searched by default in PubMed, so you don't need to search MEDLINE separately if you're using PubMed unless you're doing a systematic search project.

MESH headings are used in a number of databases to provide more precise results. The video below explains what they are and how to use them.

To search by subject in the Libraries Catalog or PubMed, MeSH terms should be used for best results. The following list represents a sample of available headings; to obtain a complete list of relevant subject terms, please use the MeSH database in PubMed, the NIH MeSH Browser or consult with a librarian.

Need images? This database can help you with that.

SMART imagebase This link opens in a new window
SMART Imagebase contains a growing collection of high-quality illustrations and animations depicting anatomy, physiology, surgery, pathology, diseases, conditions, trauma, embryology, histology and other medical topics. It also includes 100 anatomy coloring book pages. Content is peer-reviewed by graduate-level medical illustrators and expert reviewed by physicians.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for academic research including journal articles, books, technical reports, conference proceedings, and other scholarly material. Make sure you visit Settings and set Oregon Tech as your library so you have easier access to articles for free.

Cochrane Library

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence for inform healthcare decision-making. Cochrane Library is primarily used for its database of systematic reviews. Use this when looking for evidence-based information. It also has many clinical trial articles, technology assessments, and economic evaluations. The Cochrane Library consists of: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Cochrane Reviews); Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (Other Reviews); Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (Clinical Trials); Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews (Methods Reviews); The Cochrane Methodology Register (Methods Studies); Health Technology Assessment Database (Technology Assessments); NHS Economic Evaluation Database (Economic Evaluations).

Peer Review Explained

PICO

Video source: PICO - Evidence Based Medicine - University of Illinois at Chicago