LibGuides: .Mechanical Engineering: Start Here

How to Use this Subject Guide

This guide points you toward the best starting points for doing research in this subject area.

Use the tabs on the left to explore different sections of this guide.

If you have questions or need help with research, visit the Get Help section and/or contact the librarian on this guide.

Knovel This link opens in a new window
Knovel supports engineering research projects. It contains technical reference material, conference proceedings, reports, materials property data, regulatory information, and more. It can be searched by material name to retrieve property data, and it has an interactive equation tool, unit converter, and more. It also contains ASM Handbooks.

The 3-minute video below provides a quick tour of Knovel features, including the materials property search.

ASM Technical Books This link opens in a new window
ASM technical books are reference books that offer practical, hands-on guidance and problem-solving for materials and manufacturing topics, including heat treatment, corrosion, fatigue and fracture, irons and steels, nonferrous alloys plastics and ceramics, additive manufacturing, and more.
ASM Handbooks This link opens in a new window
The ASM Handbook is a comprehensive and authoritative guide to the structure, properties, processing, performance, and evaluation of metals and nonmetallic engineering materials. Oregon Tech provides digital access to the full text of the ASM Handbooks via this link. Note: Please access ASM Handbooks on Knovel as of Fall 2023.

Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Contains Compendex -- THE engineering database for articles, conferences and technical reports. You can do very powerful searching -- but it only points you to article summaries, so use the Find It @ Oregon Tech links next to each article to obtain options for full text.

American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) journals This link opens in a new window
Access to ASME's Transaction Journals from 1960 to the present.

IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Provides access to hundreds of full-text journals and conference papers in electrical engineering, electronics, and computer science. Also publishes materials on data science, embedded systems, geomatics, health informatics, manufacturing, medical devices, and robotics. Note: Oregon Tech is entitled to a maximum of 900 full text article views per year.

Engineering Workbench This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database to search and discover standards in your subject area. After you find standards you want, contact the library at libtech@oit.edu for help getting access to full text.