LibGuides: .Electrical Engineering: Start Here

How to Use this Subject Guide

This guide points you toward the best starting points for doing research in this subject area.

Use the tabs on the left to explore different sections of this guide.

If you have questions or need help with research, visit the Get Help section and/or contact the librarian on this guide.

Best Databases to Try

Scholarly Articles, Conference Proceedings and Reports

IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Your "Best Bet" for electrical engineering research! Provides access to millions of full-text journal articles and conference papers in electrical engineering, electronics, and computer science. Also contains materials on data science, embedded systems, geomatics, health informatics, robotics, and medical devices. Note: Oregon Tech is entitled to a maximum of 900 full text article views per year.
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Contains Compendex -- THE engineering database for articles, conferences and technical reports. You can do very powerful searching -- but it only points you to article summaries, so use the Find It @ Oregon Tech links next to each article to obtain options for full text.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for academic research including journal articles, books, technical reports, conference proceedings, and other scholarly material. Make sure you visit Settings and set Oregon Tech as your library so you have easier access to articles for free.
Applied Science & Technology Full Text This link opens in a new window
Some full-text. Indexes international and English-language periodicals, covering chemistry, engineering, mathematics, physics, computer technology, and energy-related disciplines. Includes articles, interviews, meetings, conferences, exhibitions, new product reviews/announcements, and more. Covers 1983 - present.

Technical Books

Knovel This link opens in a new window
Knovel supports engineering research projects. It contains technical reference material, conference proceedings, reports, materials property data, regulatory information, and more. It can be searched by material name to retrieve property data, and it has an interactive equation tool, unit converter, and more. It also contains ASM Handbooks.
ASM Technical Books This link opens in a new window
ASM technical books are reference books that offer practical, hands-on guidance and problem-solving for materials and manufacturing topics, including heat treatment, corrosion, fatigue and fracture, irons and steels, nonferrous alloys plastics and ceramics, additive manufacturing, and more.

Videos to help

In Class Work

Link to Basic Search Worksheet (OIT Users Only)