LibGuides: .Medical Laboratory Science: Start Here

How to Use This Subject Guide

This guide points you toward the best starting points for doing research in this subject area.

Use the information below and the tabs on the left to explore different sections of this guide.

If you have questions or need help with research, visit the Get Help section and/or contact the librarian on this guide.

Best Places to Start

PubMed (with OHSU full text access)
PubMed is a free database which contains more than 33 million citations for biomedical literature, life science journals. Because it is free and contains so much valuable medical evidence, you will likely use PubMed throughout your medical career. OHSU has a larger collection of full text electronic medical journals than OIT, so this PubMed link is configured to show "Find it at OHSU" buttons on search results to help you get the full text.

CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Focuses on patient care, so use when you need to find information on how people and medicine interact. For example, management of patients, assessments, or clinical practices. It provides full text for 790 nursing and allied health journals and many date back to 1982. Also includes Open Access (OA) journals.
SMART imagebase This link opens in a new window
SMART Imagebase contains a growing collection of high-quality illustrations and animations depicting anatomy, physiology, surgery, pathology, diseases, conditions, trauma, embryology, histology and other medical topics. It also includes 100 anatomy coloring book pages. Content is peer-reviewed by graduate-level medical illustrators and expert reviewed by physicians.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar enables you to search the web for scholarly articles, and to use "cited by" relationships to find additional relevant articles.

OHSU information

The MLS program is a shared program with OHSU - which means you have access to the OHSU library and its resources. Here are some places to go for that access:

OHSU Library
OHSU library accounts
You will need an OHSU barcode to access their materials
OVID Medline
MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine® (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains information needed by nurses, health professionals and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development. MEDLINE is also part of PubMed, but Ovid provides a different platform that can be useful when searching it.
Springer Protocols
This database includes reproducible laboratory protocols in the life and biomedical sciences. The content is based on the Methods in Molecular Biology, Methods in Molecular Medicine and Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology book series.
CRCnetBase Biomedical Science
This eBook collection includes resources in bioinformatics, biomedical engineering, biostatistics, epidemiology, neuroscience, pharmacology, and toxicology.
UpToDate
UpToDate is a point-of-care tool to help providers make decisions based on the best available medical evidence while treating patients.