LibGuides: .Marriage and Family Therapy: Start Here

How to Use this Subject Guide

This guide points you toward the best starting points for doing research in this subject area.

Use the tabs on the left to explore different sections of this guide.

If you have questions or need help with research, visit the Get Help section and/or contact the librarian on this guide.

Other Resources

National Alliance on Mental Health
NAMI is the National Alliance on Mental Illness, the nation’s largest grassroots mental health organization dedicated to building better lives for the millions of Americans affected by mental illness.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study. It provides full text for more than 4,650 journals, including full text for more than 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of online resources covering life, health, and physical sciences as well as social science and the humanities. Provides access to over 4 million articles from 1,600 journals, more than 22,000 books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols, and databases.
Social Sciences Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the U.S. and elsewhere, with abstracting and indexing of over 625 periodicals as far back as 1983, nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed. Social Sciences Abstracts™ covers the latest concepts, trends, opinions, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for academic research including journal articles, books, technical reports, conference proceedings, and other scholarly material. Make sure you visit Settings and set Oregon Tech as your library so you have easier access to articles for free.
Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
This collection of over 66,000 video titles spans a wide range of subject areas such as: business, counseling, health, engineering, or psychology. You will find videos of lectures, of trainings, of demonstrations, from documentaries, and from TV. Most films include limited public performance rights.

How to Use This Database?

How Research Works?

A quick overview of how scientific knowledge is accumulated and advanced over time to help us better understand the world around us.

How Research Works: Understanding the Process of Science