LibGuides: .Civil Engineering: Start Here

How to Use this Subject Guide

This guide points you toward the best starting points for doing research in this subject area.

Use the tabs on the left to explore different sections of this guide.

If you have questions or need help with research, visit the Get Help section and/or contact the librarian on this guide.

Best Databases to Try

American Society Of Civil Engineers (ASCE) Journals This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text of over 73,000 papers from American Society of Civil Engineering journals and proceedings. Allows you to locate articles across all areas of civil engineering. Approximately 4,000 new papers will be added yearly.
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Contains EI COMPENDEX -- THE engineering database. You can do very powerful searching -- but it only points you to the articles so you'll need to find them by searching our catalog. Has records for articles, conferences and technical reports.
Knovel This link opens in a new window
Knovel supports engineering research projects. It contains technical reference material, conference proceedings, reports, materials property data, regulatory information, and more. It can be searched by material name to retrieve property data, and it has an interactive equation tool, unit converter, and more. It also contains ASM Handbooks.
Applied Science & Technology Full Text This link opens in a new window
Some full-text. Indexes international and English-language periodicals, covering chemistry, engineering, mathematics, physics, computer technology, and energy-related disciplines. Includes articles, interviews, meetings, conferences, exhibitions, new product reviews/announcements, and more. Covers 1983 - present.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Provides access to millions of full-text journal articles and conference papers in electrical engineering, electronics, and computer science. Also contains materials on data science, embedded systems, geomatics, health informatics, robotics, and medical devices. Note: Oregon Tech is entitled to a maximum of 900 full text article views per year.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar searches a huge number of scholarly articles indexed from across the web, including in university repositories. It can be a good place to find full text when the library doesn't have it. Use the "Cited by" link at the bottom of an article record to go forward in time and see other papers that have built on that research.

Tutorials to Help You Use these Databases

ASCE Tutorial EI Compendex/Engineering Village Overview

Applied Science & Technology Tutorials